Renunciation

 
 
 


from the rose’s musk
 
to the rust on the door hinge
 
letting all things go

8 comments on “Renunciation

  1. Greg says:

    I really like the imagery you used.

  2. Jen says:

    Another haiku that stops me dead in my tracks — great symbolism 🙂

  3. Bastet says:

    Yes! Perfectly said!

  4. Edward Beach says:

    Hi Mark. I really like your haiku.
    Here, the rusting hinge is a fitting objective correlative to the idea of letting things go, whilst the rose musk softens the haiku by adding a subtle wistfulness to the narrator’s voice. The three components of your haiku not only cohere but also complement each other: the haiku feels naturally composed rather than a jumbled composite of nature imagery and emotion.
    Have you ever considered submitting haiku to The Heron’s Nest or A Hundred Gourds? They are two online haiku magazines. I’m sure the editors would be happy to publish you.

  5. Edward Beach says:

    I only just realised this is written in old-school 5-7-5 too. I’ve honestly not read a 5-7-5 that reads so smoothly for a good while.

  6. janicead says:

    Letting go seems the hardest thing to do at times.

  7. Suzanne says:

    I laughed in delight at this one. Beautiful and profound.

  8. nicely done! I was actually thinking about flaking rust but didn’t get any farther,

Leave a Reply

