Zero

 
 
 


zero Celsius—
 
dreaming of the pyramids
 
and the desert sands

11 comments on “Zero

  1. I can understand this very well … I am not a fan of cold weather too.

  2. Jen says:

    and in summer we dream of the Arctic, right? 😉

  3. Bastet says:

    🙂 Oh so much better than 0° Fahrenheit … I do remember mornings when I lived in the Libyan Desert, just next door, when the thermometer his 0° C … a lovely haiku just the same and very imaginative!

    • Yeah, 0 Fahrenheit would be darn cold! I think the U.S. is the only country in the world that still uses the Fahrenheit scale, so in deference to everyone else I used Celsius in this haiku. Thanks, Bastet!

      On Wed, Aug 5, 2015 at 9:56 PM, Mark M. Redfearn wrote:

      >

      • Bastet says:

        Glad you used Celsius 🙂 … Actually: the Bahamas, Belize, the Cayman Islands, Palau, and the United States ( I looked it up just to find out – thought the crazy British still used it too!) If you want to hear something crazy Brits did too – they supposedly went metric a few years back, but when you buy cloth from Britain, you buy it by the meter, but the widths are still in inches … so you’d by 5 meters of a cloth but the width is measured in inches … if you buy online they sometimes use both cm and inches … drives you mad when you’re trying to figure how much fabric you need for a pattern though.

        • I know that miles are still used in England and (maybe) Ireland, although you drive at km/h, which seems to me to be absolutely ridiculous. I can’t imagine having to buy cloth the way you describe. What a nightmare!

          On Thu, Aug 6, 2015 at 3:35 AM, Mark M. Redfearn wrote:

          >

          • Bastet says:

            Ah … I thought they probably still used miles … and the cloth problem is really bad when it comes to having to follow a pattern … you have to get a conversion table to figure how much cloth you need. Oh well … England Swings!

  4. lynn__ says:

    True enough! I admire how often your haiku “turns” so smoothly, Mark.

  5. Dream on my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

