Lifeboat

 
 
 


refugee lifeboat
 
how many nautical miles
 
till the blackbird sings

7 comments on “Lifeboat

  1. Bastet says:

    Has you ever known a time without sadness Mark? But is good for us to remember in times of trouble the loss of the innocent. Hugs.

  2. Paloma says:

    all I can say is …. wow….
    bowing.

    • Thank you. I have a lifelong friend who basically ripped this haiku to shreds, starting with the term “nautical miles.” She said it was “too abstract,” and she admonished me to “stick with nature.” That was one critique that I had to brush off! I, like you, Jen, found this haiku to be a “wow.” And I hasten to add that I have NO idea how these “wows” happen. They just do, for which I am grateful—as I am to you for your kindness. Thanks again.

      On Mon, Nov 30, 2015 at 8:22 PM, Mark M. Redfearn wrote:

      >

      • Paloma says:

        You’re absolutely right in shrugging off that critique – the haiku is the right balance of nature and thoughtful abstraction. You’re very welcome, Mark – namaste

Leave a Reply

