Wildfire

 
 
 


A raging wildfire
 
consumes a chipmunk’s seed cache
 
in a hollow pine.

12 comments on “Wildfire

  1. Marit says:

    I hope you’re save Mark 😉 I love your haiku today! Hug from Holland

  2. Lea says:

    Fire. I am an hour from the wildfires consuming yet again this summer, the community east and north of me in Northern California… it is hard to remember that fire lets the pine cones burst for new seeds to sprout when there is so much destruction and loss. Little chipmunk… I hope you are safe… and you too Mark, that the winds do not turn your way…

  3. Oh the poor chipmunk ~ must be in CA ~ yes, do be safe Mark ~ sad but lovely haiku

    Happy Weekend to you ~ ^_^

  4. gemma says:

    Oh it breaks my heart to see the destruction these fires are causing to both man and beast. My prayers to all who need them.

  5. Nonnie USA says:

    Summers have brought both wild fires and floods- so scary either of them.

  6. mislucja says:

    …makes my troubles pale in comparison…

  7. Wishing you well. 🙂

  8. judie says:

    I scrolled and read back to the wren which is where I think I left off last time. I love your haiku writings. Poor scarecrow. I hate those fires, and the floods as well. My heart cries for those affected. If only I had a magic wand………………

  9. rebecca says:

    your haiku becomes an intimate prayer for wide sweeping destruction. as marit looks to the lichen-you place us in the heart of a winter cache- the hope of life and endurance.
    even in adversity-you lift me.

Leave a Reply

