Widow

 
 
 


a new black wool shawl
 
draped over her thin shoulders—
 
the sergeant’s widow

8 comments on “Widow

  1. Marit says:

    I pictured my grandma when I read your haiku… she wasn’t a sergeant’s wife but the haiku seems to fit her. Love it Mark!

  2. rebecca says:

    such a sorrowful vision.

  3. artmusedog says:

    reality of life ~ loss and death of loved ones ~ powerful haiku

    Wishing you a Happy Weekend ~ ^_^

  4. Ow, so powerfully profound.

  5. Lea says:

    I see this so clearly… I can also feel what it would be like to enfold her into my arms…

  6. gemma says:

    The shawl was a comfort to her. It touched her softly just as the sergeant had done.

Leave a Reply

