17 comments on “Urdu

  1. WabiSabi says:

    I am just thankful that there are folks who translate poetry into English – otherwise I would never have discovered Rumi or Rilke or the Psalms for that matter. Are you, by chance, learning Urdu?

  2. Lea says:

    صرف یہ کہ ٹاور چورا چورا ہو جائے گا اور ہم ایک دوسرے سے سن کر سکتا … میں مطمئن سے زیادہ، میں مطمئن ہوں گے …

  3. Cynthia says:

    I agree with WabiSabi, thank goodness for English translations so we can enjoy poetry from other languages. I hate to miss out on any of the awesomeness!

  4. rebecca says:

    i love the way you stretch the boundaries of our shared world in a tiny haiku. yes, you do!

  5. Bastet says:

    Great … and satisfied even if we can’t use onji for our haiku!

  6. Nonnie says:

    I add my admiration of those who translate so we can imbibe the delicious taste of others’ poetry!

  7. judie says:

    I did not know the language was called Urdu. Now I do. Thanks for the lesson. Thanks goodness for internet dictionary, too. 🙂

  8. Cathy Tenzo says:

    oh so very wonderful!

  9. It gives a lot of satisfaction to read poetry in other languages, but … hooray … I am glad that a lot of poetry is translated into English and Dutch. It also gives satisfaction to read your own haiku translated into another language …

  10. Stormcat says:

    Some of my favorite poetry is in another language. I like when the original is published alongside the translated version. Not that I can read it but I try just to see if I can get some idea of the sound.

  11. julespaige says:

    Had to explore what I didn’t know –
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urdu

    Thanks. I also found out Urdu is related to Sanskrit.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.